Splitting my Blog A Question for my fellow authors.

End the violence.

Its time. The discussion on Women’s equality recently here in the land of Aus, has prompted me to start a second blog, (where will I find the time?) called somewhat appropriately Not All Men Are Bastards.
This will leave Part Time Lunatic for my more creative pursuits and my take on the writerly game.
So here’s where life stands at this moment in time. I’ve been sick for a couple of weeks and as a part timer no money’s coming in from my side. (No this is not a call for donations LOL) My writing has suffered though I have been learning a few new tricks for editing book two Immortal Darkness, still aiming for Christmas release.
Learning lots about Past Perfect and Simple Past, and I can see some of your heads nodding off so I won’t bore you.
Book two is looking like running to about 90k words and I’m mostly happy with the way its gone.
Now here’s a big question to the female writers and readers out there. There have been discussions out there about female tropes used in spec fiction, and one caught my eye because I am skating very close to that particular edge with an event in my book.
So here’s the thing, (possible Spoiler alert) A character, female, imprisoned and experiences abuse that only happened in her mind, a false memory implanted to break down her psychic barriers. A complete and terrible violation that is only alluded to as I am still aiming at the PG rating, so to speak. The focus is on the people in the false memory who perpetrate the abuse, including the main character. Shifts the reader from the act of violation to the relationship fallout that follows upon freedom. The PTSD is played out over the subsequent Chapters, bringing out the emotional and the psychological impact of the interrogation. Questions are raised including reality vs illusory reality but the plot revolves for a time around her struggle with it. She does recover and return to her butt kicking self, stronger and ready to face the next challenge. With some help from the elves she overcomes the burden of the memory after all she knows what’s real.
Here’s my question. Is this an overused trope?
Personally I’ve known a number of women who had been abused, and witnessed the long term damage that it does and the power of a woman who survives such a thing. For me this subplot allows me to express some things that are close to my heart and I’m hoping that it is a shared emotion with the readers.
Any thoughts, Ideas or Abuse?
Please comment below.

Chris Kneipp
Part Time Lunatic and full time human being.

Leave a Reply

