Guess who?

Allow me to introduce myself
I’m the callous on your heart
I’m every evil desire you have
I’m gonna tear your little soul apart.
I’m every evil thought you think
I’m the depths to which you are willing to sink.
I am
I am
Your sinful nature

And every time you tell a lie
I am right there by your side
And when someone tries to tell you the truth
I am that urge to run and hide
I am the fear in the back of your mind
I am that secret sin you hope no one will find
I am,
I am,
Your sinful nature

And if you think I’m not around
Or that my words you’ve never spoken
Then I am yours and you are mine
And your heart I will turn to stone
It will never be broken.

Allow me to present to you
My many qualifications
I’ve been leading people astray
Through all time and in all nations
I can lie in Cantonese,
French or German and English with ease
I am,
I am,
Your sinful nature
And though you can hear me all the time
I am very rarely seen
But even when you don’t know I’m around
You can always tell where I’ve been
Where there is arrogance envy and sleaze
Greed and anger and things like these
I am,
I am,
Your sinful nature.
And if you think I’m not around
Or that my words you’ve never spoken
Then I am yours and you are mine
And your heart I will turn to stone
It will never be broken.

One response to “Guess who?

Leave a Reply

