A Little Anticlimax Is A Good Thing.

I’m a firm believer in the power of the anticlimax to shock a reader towards the end of the story. I remember the first time I saw Alien and Ripley has escaped in the shuttle. I relaxed as she got prepared to put herself and the cat into stasis, stretching out my legs under the seat in front of me, assured that she was safe.I was just waiting for the credits to roll when in a flash of light I see the Alien, in the shuttle with her. I jumped about three feet into the air which would have been fine if my legs hadn’t only had six inches clearance. Corking my knees on the seat in front I laughed in pain while the gasps from others told me no one was prepared for it.
So sometimes it’s good to have a little anticlimax before the shock finish.

Chris K

58583

Leave a Reply

