The Great Aussie Women of Spec Fiction.

Following a discussion with my wife we’ve decided that Australia is blessed with so many excellent female speculative fiction writers. Must be something in the water. Not only are these women fabulous at the craft, but I have always found them to be gracious in their support of the Australian Writing community, and have helped put our little country on the world literary map. In so many countries around the world I hear the complaint that Spec fiction is a male dominated domain. With talent like this as an example, perhaps it is time the rest of the publishing world took a look at what’s happening here.

Here are some of the names we’ve came up with, (With assistance from Facebook friends, thankyou). Care to add any…?

Emily Rodda, Isobelle Carmody, Marianne de Pierres, Kate Forsyth, Kylie Chan, Rowena Cory Daniells, Kylie Fox and Amanda Wrangles (Had to put A.K. Wrox together 🙂 ), Nicole Murphy, Gillian Polack (One L), Kim Falconer, Sara Douglass (RIP and a great loss), Kim Wilkins, Juliet Marillier, Sophie Masson, Alison Goodman, Alison Croggon, Lian Hearn, Pamela Freeman, Karen Brooks, Belinda Murrell, Kate Constable, Jennifer Fallon, Fiona McIntosh, Angela Slatter, Margo Lanagan, Keri Arthur, Kylie Scott, Kylie Griffin, MJ Scott, Karen Miller, Anita Bell, Janette Dalgliesh, Tracey O’Hara, Valerie Parv, Cheryse Durrant, Glenda Larke, Kirstyn McDermott. Felicity Dowker, Jo Anderton, Kaaron Warren, Trudi Canavan, Cat Sparks, K. S. Nikakis, Traci Harding, Louise Cusack, Erica Hayes, Rhonda Roberts,
KJ Taylor, Maxine McArthur, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Sara Creasy

I believe that a huge part of Australia’s success in turning the world’s statistics on their head is because of the support of the writer community here. In interviews, blogs and social media it is normal to hear reference by one Author to other Australian authors and that sense of community is building a thriving creative environment. (This is my belief anyway.)
In creative industries, seeing each other as competition is counter-productive. All it does is makes it harder for all those incredible minds to find avenues that are open to creative expression.
What a terrible shame it would have been if we had never had the words of these great authors to share because of their gender. So to all those fabulous women Author’s worldwide, take a leaf from the Aussie experience. Support each other, celebrate each other and promote your fellow writer’s of the female persuasion. Maybe this will help to level the playing field worldwide.
A world that only hears the Male voice is a world that only has half the story. What a terrible shame that would be.

Christopher Kneipp

Addendum… For a collection of fantastic interviews with some of these great authors and some excellent male authors as well. They are well worth a read if you want an insight into the authors’ minds. (Thanks to Rowena Cory Daniells for the wonderful work she did on collecting them.) CLICK HERE

24 responses to “The Great Aussie Women of Spec Fiction.

    • So true. But the Image and catchphrase seemed just too appropriate to let go. 🙂 (NB: She’s not an author either.)

  1. What about Traci Harding… ?!
    Author auf The Ancient Future Trilogy…
    & then some…
    was really amazed not to find her in the list…

    • And added. OMG this list just keeps growing. Is there no end to awesome array of Aussie Women Spec Fiction Authors?.
      (We certainly hope not.)

    • And good to see. I think the thing I appreciate is how incredibly supportive these Authors are not only of each other, but also of those of us (Regardless of gender) who are trying to break in to the industry. Personally, I have always found their grace, humility, wisdom and accessibility, not to mention their humour, has been invaluable in improving my writing. I continue to grow and learn because of the advice they give through their blogs and websites, not to mention the questions that have been answered directly.
      Australia has become a great place to be for authors and the world is starting to realise it more and more as the list grows.

  2. So true. Only last night I was bemoaning the office politics of my own profession (infants/primary school teaching) and trying to figure a way to move into the nice end of publishing. I have had the privilage to meet some of the authors you mentioned above in their capacity as children’s authors. I have never met a more supportive and genuine group of people. I really admire the support they give each other and emerging authors such as myself. Thanks for bringing this point to greater attention and thanks, ladies, for being so wonderful.

  3. I am a self published author but I have recieved so much support from a lot of the authors you have mentioned. Wuthout their encouragment I might have given up. They are great people.

    • Truly amazing women every one of them. And yours is a story I hear repeated again and again. Another reason why Australia is called the “Lucky Country.”

    • Oversight has been rectified Bernadette. I have been constantly surprised by all the great authors that I forgot to add and Louise Cusack is another classic example. Thanks for the reminder and I have added her name to the list.
      PS. Congrats on the soon 2b released book and I hope it exceeds all your dreams and expectations.

    • Thanks for the addition and I’ve added her to the list. Phew this is becoming a full time job, (I guess I should have expected that when I started.)

  4. You have Alison Goodman twice. Also Jo Spurrier and Peta Crake are newly published this year. And Rhonda Roberts is great. KJ Taylor, Maxine McArthur, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Sara Creasy. Um, there might be more I’ve forgotten, but they’re not in my line of sight.

    • Good spotting, Tsana. I am getting to the point where I direct people to comments for added names because this is becoming a constant revision exercise and I should be doing some of my own writing. Thanks for the additions. (Particularly of note, can’t believe I missed Tansy, I was sure I’d put her on the list.)

    • Oh I dunno Tsana – thought I was (in your line of sight that is.) Disappointed not to see WHEN WE HAVE WINGS mentioned by anyone…is it the crime award shortlisting? Some of the crime bloggers weren’t too pleased to see two of 3 Ned Kelly shortlisted books were also spec fic.

      • Gah, sorry Claire, I was looking at my paper book shelf (so literal line of sight there) and forgot to check ebooks as well, which is the format I have yours in.

Leave a Reply

