The Part Time In Part Time Lunatic

WP_20150727_17_39_33_ProLife gets busy sometimes and I forget to update this blog. My bad.

Among other things, (Being a dad and husband,) there are responsibilities that come when you pass the 50 year mark of your life, (I’m fifty one.)  I work part time as my gross income from writing at present is Zero.  I write when  I can, in between the aforementioned responsibilities, in the hope of one day becoming a full time Author. (Writers average incomes are woeful) . I don’t write because I think it will make me a fortune, I’m far too pragmatic for that, but I do hold on to the idea of one day making a living with words.

I do hope one day to be able to look back at the things I’ve written and feel proud. My series, Parallel and The Immortal Darkness were penned when I was just starting out taking my writing seriously and hindsight now four years later makes it clear they could have been so much better. I’ve learned so much since then, mostly from other writers. The community of Speculative Fiction writers is incredibly supportive here in Australia. Especially here in Queensland. There is a close knit community of SciFi, Fantasy and Horror writers that feed each other with encouragement as we strive for the same goal, to make the best stories we can.

Now I’ve finished Harmony, my third novel, I feel like I’m gaining some momentum. Along with that come the fears, what if it’s not good enough, what if people don’t like it, what if I can’t find a publisher? The head gets full of doubts around this time. Having the writing community behind you is a good way to keep your sanity.

So there it is, Part Time Lunatic indeed. I work part time, write part time, do what I can to keep a household going, part time and occasionally, lose my mind.

Chris K

 

2 responses to “The Part Time In Part Time Lunatic

    • Hey Joshua, Thanks for the query. To be honest, I’ve been working on another novel as the response to book two was very quiet. You’re the first reader to query so Go You, LOL. As to answer your question, I’ve been working on the third book in the background and am most of the way through the first draft. It will be out by the end of the year, good lord willing and the creeks don’t rise,. Thanks for your message, so much. I love that you are enjoying Mark’s story. Chris K

Leave a Reply

